Semi-tutorial: Making new combos and items

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Semi-tutorial: Making new combos and items

First, a proposition: It would be really cool if someone make a GUI combos editor. I'm not a programmer, but I would imagine it with a text field to edit the combo name (starting with #1) and a drop-down selector with all the available items. Actually, for each combo, there would be 2-5 selectors. (I figured out that having 6 or more items in a combo makes it crash.) The program would automatically code and save the combos and the items in the combosdb.dat.xml file. OK, enough dreaming.

After working directly with several of the Little Inferno files, I learned a lot and discovered it wasn't too hard to edit combos, letters, and even items. I'll try to organize my thoughts in this semi-tutorial for anyone interested. Be warned: you'll run into spoilers if you haven't played through the game yet.

First of all, I made an allcombos.pak file that contains the necessary icons to include in new combos the items NOT included in combos in the original game: about a dozen catalog items for purchase, plus the Sugar Plumps Portrait, the Paper Heart, the Thermometer, the Egg (Extinction), the Hug Coupon, the Delete Button, and the Mouse Pad. The download is here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qhl5rc4gzgiwzcs/allcombos.zip?dl
Modding the game with allcombos.pak allows to use all the items in combos without worrying about creating their icons.

Before editing anything, I suggest you make a backup copy of the file, so you can always go back to something that works. This includes the Little Inferno.exe found in the liTools folder.